Promise in a Rainbow

This morning Lily, my dog, and I ventured forth to buy some groceries. I’ve just come home from a conference that I do not believe I was meant to attend but, as always I managed to find myself useful in ways I never imagined. God always surprises me. That is, being something of a recluse, when I allow myself to participate.

Earlier we had gone for our walk/run. We had to run because we got caught in what probably will be the only cloudburst today. But the rain, a downpour at times, was warm and soaking. As we drove to the market to the west a shimmering rainbow emerged between the clouds. Almost faded, its outer bands of longer-wavelength red, then orange and yellow, then green, blue to the shortest wave-length of violet. And I remembered God’s promise to Noah, therefore to me, that never again will he destroy the living things on the earth.

We all have times when we have to start over. I wish I had a nickel for every time I had to begin again. Some things we can’t, literally, start over. We can’t shove our babies back into ourselves and have them again, we have to accept that we make mistakes, try not to make them again and learn from the new ones we make. We aren’t perfect but we do pay attention and thereby eventually figure things out. Or not, but there is no end to second chances, thankfully. And we don’t have to go to a corner to think about what we said or didn’t say or did or didn’t do. Which is good because unless we know how it came across we won’t know always if it was wrong or ok. Except our conscience is pretty good about telling us.

And we encourage each other. I always hope that however I do this will only be remembered in the context of the encouragement, not where it came from. Not because whatever is encouraged is insignificant but because encouragement like love only works, is only real when it is given freely.

“I have set My rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth … Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.”
~Genesis 9:13-15
What Wavelength Goes With a Color?: http://science-edu.larc.nasa.gov/EDDOCS/Wavelengths_for_Colors.html

Leave a Reply

