Finally warm?

After one more dip into Jack Frost’s icy chill last night maybe we are finally in warmer temperatures for the duration. Hard to tell. I remember one Easter weekend seeing snowflakes almost as big as the dogwood petals. April. I hope the cold is over. I have more baby plants than I have dish towels to put over them if it freezes again.

And my avocado tree. I promised it that whenever I moved (this being 3 years ago, in the same pot it’s been in) I would put it in the ground. I know they are happier in more tropical temperatures but I promised. Last year it actually had a few blooms but they did not become avocados. As did my pink lemon but they did not become lemons either. Although this year the lemon tree has a lot more buds on it than before. Maybe I will have a lemon or two. But I don’t know about planting it here. Maybe.

I keep telling myself with each spring planting catalog, or everytime I go to a nursery or Lowe’s that I do not have to replace everything I left at my former house right away. So far I think I’ve found just about everything I had, from hummingbird plants to lamb’s ears to butterfly weed to foxglove. And then some but I won’t put in another Russian sage, probably not a vitex either. Too much pruning, too much work.

I planted the blueberries, too and I know they will do well because I have seen wild blueberries on some of my walks with Lily. Mainly for the birds, though. They ate most of them last year. I brought two fig trees with me but gave one away. I don’t think they need two plants to have figs. I guess I’ll find out.

Anyway, I am sore now. I think I’ll go sit in a more comfortable chair, preferably with a comfortable glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

