Lost

So (a really long time ago) I used to be a librarian at a library branch in a very bad part of town in Jacksonville, Florida. I loved being a librarian, did not love being written up for warning children against playing swordfights with small chairs while jumping on library tables because their parents did not like the way I warned them. Like, what part of “Please do not hit each other with those chairs” is inappropriate??

Nor did I particularly care for greeting one of my favorite (calmer) patrons, noticing a cast on his arm and when I asked him what happened being told “I got shot.”

No, this was not a choice part of town and I only lasted there a couple of years.

Anyway, one of my coworkers who had worked there forever and whom I really admired for her unflappable attitude had this sign over her desk–

“I have gone out to look for myself. If I come back before I return please hold me until I get here.”

I found this gratifying and still find it so, having many days where I still feel this way.

But being lost in being on my own is not a problem. So why do married people feel as though single people need to not be alone? Having experienced a not-so-good marriage does not nullify the fact for me that I do know there are wonderful marriages, more or less relationships in which the two people complement each other, trust, nurture and support each other, can laugh at themselves and each other without offending anybody, where they have each other’s back, and all the other elements that apply to a happy marriage or coupledom.

I have no doubt that these exist. I have observed them. Then why, when I am more than 30 years into being single and clearly happy with my life is it important to change things up? If it isn’t broken, as they say. Yet often well-meaning (married) people will insist I meet someone that they know, someone I just have to meet.

So while I appreciate others’ interest in my well-being I have a kind of a pact with God. If He wants me to have a new dimension to my life in the way of a male counterpart He will make it brilliantly clear to me. Otherwise no thanks. My own efforts years ago fell far short. He knows me. He knows sometimes I have to be hit over the head to be made to see.

Though I’d not want to be like the proverbial drowning man who rebuffed  a person on a crane, then in a rowboat, then a helicopter and finally drowned. Finding himself in Heaven he asks God, “I trusted You to help me, what happened?” God replies, “Well, I sent a crane, a rowboat and a helicopter…. “

 

6 thoughts on “Lost

  1. Well, it could be worse… they could be coming up to you and saying, “Hey, I know this…” You get the point 😉

    Remember, “godliness with contentment is great gain” (1Tim. 6:6). You are blessed to be happy as you are.

  2. I believe that single people (of which I am one) have a special role to play in God’s plan. More often than those who are married, we have time to devote to the needy. Familiar with loneliness, we are sensitive to the loneliness of others. Likely to be independent, we are aware of the limitations of independence. That teaches us to lean on God.

    Our families may not include a spouse. But we have many other loved ones — parents, siblings, nieces, nephews, partners, colleagues, and dear friends.

    Life involves difficulties and disappointments, whichever path we may choose. But, also, joys. ❤

    • Yes and though there are marriages completely based on dependence on Jesus most are not. Single people live extremely fulfilling lives when focused on God. Thank you for your insightful comments!

Leave a Reply

