Time

Before I retired when I worked every day there was never enough time. As a single parent I divided time the best way I could but nothing ever seemed to have enough of my attention for me to feel it was fully redeemed. I am certain this is not a peculiarity to me. All the stuff that has to be done… laundry, cleaning, cooking, budgets, school, work, and then somehow play gets left till last.

Not fair.

Play needs to be an integral part of life. Not to the exclusion of other important things but as important. Playing gives more room. More breathing space. Makes time stand still.

This past week I truly enjoyed 4 days with my brother and his family. Unfortunately my son did not join us, but we had that many days of incredibly pretty weather– sun, soft, puffy clouds, sparkling ocean and bright blue sky. The International Space Station even made an appearance a couple of nights for a few minutes.

I love mornings at the ocean….

DSCN0223.JPG

look to the west and there’s this, just where the moon has set–

DSCN0209.JPG

and you meet the most interesting characters….

DSCN0221.JPG

or others, not quite so frightened but part of the peaceful beauty of the sunrise-

DSCN0201.JPG DSCN0206.JPG

Time. Everything else is so still no matter how much time passes. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

